click on month for monthly picture calendar

Listings are in the opposite order of appearance: headliner is listed at the top, next is the support band(s), and the last band listed is the opener.

Bookmark and Share

>>back to listings calendar
>> back to picture calendar
Saturday October 8 2016
 8:30PM doors -- music at 9:30PM ••• 21 AND OVER
$12 in advance / $15 at the door
Imperial Teen
 indie pop
Carletta Sue Kay
Faux Canada
Indie Rock / Pop

Imperial Teen
Roddy Bottom Jone Stebbins Lynn Perko Truell Will Schwartz
-from San Francisco, CA

-Imperial Teen is a San Francisco-based pop group made up of Roddy Bottum (Faith No More) primarily on guitar/vocals, Will Schwartz (also of hey willpower) primarily on guitar/vocals, Lynn Truell (née Perko; formerly of Sister Double Happiness, The Dicks, and The Wrecks) primarily on drums and backing vocals, and Jone Stebbins (previously of The Wrecks) primarily on bass and backing vocals.  

So many bands lose momentum and focus over time, but Imperial Teen somehow grow both younger and wiser over the years, connecting four characterful lives through creative friendship and deep trust, and forging a communal power that continues to grow stronger.

Carletta Sue Kay
Carletta Sue Kay et al
-from San Francisco, CA

-“When Carletta Sue Kay takes the stage, it can take the uninitiated by surprise. The singer is over six feet tall, with a figure more like a wrestler’s than an ingénue’s. With wig askew, vintage dress often missing a sleeve or other homemade alterations and red lipstick unevenly applied. Is this a performance art piece? An elaborate joke? But then Carletta …opens his mouth, and all doubts fade.” (The New York Times)

“Carletta Sue Kay’s heart breaking performance melts the hearts of even the most cynical. Carletta Sue Kay has shared bills with the likes of: Kurt Vile, Thee Oh Sees, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Girls, The Fresh & Onlys, Kid Congo and The Pink Monkey Birds, Kelley Stoltz and many others. Walker can be heard on The Magnetic Field’s newest record Love at the Bottom of the Sea.” (Merge Records)

Faux Canada
Melinda Wegent, David Lean
Alejandro Soini, Kevin Hobson
-from San Francisco, CA

-Bonjour! Faux Canada is an SF indie-pop-rock foursome from members of My First Earthquake, Sir Salvatore and Crashfaster. Heavily inspired by the early 2000’s Secretly Canadian lineup of indie rockers, their influences also include elements of 90’s shoegaze, grunge, and electro-lounge, all wrapped up in an energetic pop sheen. The result is a delicious blend of old and new, like an AMC Gremlin with a hover conversion.