click on month for monthly picture calendar

Listings are in the opposite order of appearance: headliner is listed at the top, next is the support band(s), and the last band listed is the opener.

Bookmark and Share

>>back to listings calendar
>> back to picture calendar
Saturday August 25 2018
 8:30PM doors -- music at 9:00PM
$10 in advance / $13 at the door
Every Move A Picture
 post-punk dance-rock
Fake Your Own Death
 darkwave indie post punk shoegaze
Strange Cities  -----So What is off the bill
 members of In Letter Form
  new wave post-punk

Every Move A Picture
Joey Clark === bass
Dan Francisco === drums
Allen Davis === guitar
Brent Messenger === vocals
-from San Francisco, CA

-The dance post-punk stylings of San Francisco's Every Move a Picture initially materialized around vocalist/guitarist Brent Messenger, bassist Joey Fredrick, and drummer Dan Aquino. Childhood friends Messenger and Fredrick had been playing in various bands throughout the early 2000s (at times with Aquino), but Every Move a Picture was not officially born until early 2004.

The quartet was ultimately completed after Portland transplant Allen Davis answered a Craigslist posting and joined up on guitar and keyboards. Soon after, the band recorded three songs at a friend's rehearsal space; the energetic tracks found early airplay on local radio and by KROQ's Rodney Bingenheimer in L.A. As their music further filtered across to the U.K. and Radio One, Every Move a Picture could be found opening hometown shows for the likes of the Kaiser Chiefs and Louis XIV.

Also generating notable buzz at 2005's SXSW—all from those first three songs—the band next released the five-song EP Blink and You'll Miss It. This led to their first live radio session at L.A.'s hip KCRW, and the licensing of various tracks to computer games and television shows like One Tree Hill. Before any official release appeared overseas, Every Move a Picture played their first U.K. gigs to overwhelming response. The London-based label Something in Construction then issued a 7" containing the songs "Signs of Life" and "Chemical Burns," which promptly sold out the week of release.

Touring continued, including a spot at the 2005 Reading and Leeds festivals, and serving as support for June dates with the Futureheads in the U.S. The band also issued a four-song EP Opposition Party with all proceeds going to the Rainforest Action Network. Every Move a Picture finally released their anticipated full-length debut Heart = weapon on V2 in July 2006, and supported it that fall on the road with Electric Six.

As of 2016, they're active again.

Fake Your Own Death
Terry Ashkinos - Vocals, Guitar
Scott Eberhardt - Drums, Backing Vox
Adrian McCullough- Bass, Synth
Jimmy Chen - Guitar, Synth
-from Pacifica, CA

-You don’t have to die to start over but you might have to pretend to. Fake Your Own Death have been compared to Echo and the Bunnymen and Sonic Youth in both local and national press. They've shared stages with The Warlocks, Blood Red Shoes, Film School, White Denim, Bob Mould, !!!, Gang of Four and others.

Strange Cities
Caroline, James, Brandon, Dan, Daniel
-from San Francisco, CA

-Formed in SF from the ashes of several bay area bands (In Letter Form, Murder of Lilies, I Am Animal), bringing you nostalgia, bittersweetness, melancholy, sparkle sighs, broken laughter, whiskey tears, and and angry nights.